19 OCT 2026

11 MIN READ TIME

24 hour storage in London: 6 providers compared

self stroage units in london

We compared six London providers on 24 hour storage: HOLD, Attic, Access, +Space, Pocket and Lok N Go. See how each handles out-of-hours access, what it costs and which terms can limit it.

Not sure which unit size you'd need for out-of-hours access? Use our storage size guide.

24 hour storage London at a glance

Provider

24 hour access

How you get in

Smallest unit from (new customer offer)

HOLD

Free on request; discretionary under our terms

Personal PIN, switched on by calling reception

£95.30 a month incl. VAT, 10 sq ft (£2 first month)

Attic

Included with every unit

PIN or app

About £15 a week, VAT unclear (up to 6 weeks free)

Access

Free where a store offers it; not unrestricted

PIN or app, requested from the store

Quote only (50% off up to 8 weeks)

+Space

Advertised; terms let +Space change hours

App

£22.50 a week incl. VAT, 10 sq ft (50% off first 8 weeks)

Pocket

Advertised; restricted at some premises

App and access codes

£45 a week, 10 to 49 sq ft, VAT unclear (no intro discount)

Lok N Go

Advertised 24 hours, 365 days

Locking bars; gate method not stated

From £250 a month, size and VAT not stated (no offer found)

Prices are each provider's published figure for its smallest unit, so sizes and billing periods differ. Offers are for new customers and have conditions, so see each provider's section.

How we compared 24 hour storage providers

We compared the six on

  • 24 hour access
  • How you get in
  • The limits in their terms
  • London sites, pricing and reviews

We left out Big Yellow, Safestore and Shurgard because none offers 24 hour access as standard: Safestore says it doesn't, Big Yellow doesn't offer unrestricted 24 hour access and charges £12 every 4 weeks for extended hours, and Shurgard's access runs 7am to 9pm at most stores.

If anything here is inaccurate or has changed, let us know and we'll correct it.

HOLD Self Storage

hold self storage facility in london

Best for: tradespeople, online sellers and London event teams who need to get in at odd hours.

Reviews: Feefo, 5/5. Trustpilot, 4.7/5.

HOLD Self Storage launched in March 2024 on York Way in King's Cross. HOLD's CEO and co-founder, Frederic de Ryckman de Betz, is a former chairman of the SSA UK. In 2026 HOLD was runner-up in the UK Independent Operator Store of the Year category at the SSA UK Awards.

On site, HOLD offers premium business storage solutions, along with workpods, mailbox rental and parcel acceptance. If you want storage that's close, flexible and easy to get into any time, book a unit with HOLD.

Locations: HOLD currently operates in King's Cross, with three opening soon in London: Chiswick, Croydon and Woodford.

How does 24 hour storage work at HOLD?

You book online and bring a photo ID on your first visit. To get 24 hour access, ask reception (020 3657 2900) and they'll switch on your personal PIN, usually the same day in reception hours. Authorised users each get their own PIN. Every unit has its own alarm. HOLD Self Storage includes 24 hour access with every unit at no extra charge.

HOLD pricing and offers

New customers pay £2 for their first month on bookings made by 31 October 2026. The offer needs a two-month minimum stay and a £75 minimum spend. A refundable deposit equal to one month's standard rent is payable at move-in.

For a 10 sq ft unit, prices start from £95.30 a month including VAT. HOLD will match a like-for-like quote within three miles and offer free move-in van hire (terms apply).

Storage facility features

  • 24-hour CCTV monitoring and fire detection across the site

  • Off-street parking, a covered loading bay and trolleys for moving items in and out

  • Workspace pods with power, WiFi, printer access and hot drinks

  • Seven unit sizes, from 10 sq ft up to 350+ sq ft

  • The building is fireproof, waterproof and kept at a stable temperature year-round

  • Mailbox rental that accepts parcels and large deliveries on your behalf

Downside: HOLD currently operates in King's Cross, but three more London storage facilities are opening soon.

Attic Self Storage

attic self storage facility

Best for: people who want 24 hour access with every unit, without booking or paying extra.

Reviews: Trustpilot, 4.7/5.

Founded in 2006, Attic Self Storage opened its first store, in Bow, in 2008 and has added nine of its 10 sites since 2020. Its Sunbury store won the UK Multi-Site Operator Store of the Year award at the SSA UK Awards 2026. HOLD took over Attic's King's Cross site in March 2024.

Locations: 10 sites: nine in London, including Marylebone, Bermondsey and Bow, and one in Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey.

How does 24 hour storage work at Attic?

Check-in happens online, where you upload ID and sign the agreement, or in a store. With your PIN or the Attic app (app locks at every store except Bow), you don't need to book a visit.

Attic includes 24 hour access with every unit at no extra charge. Its agreement lets Attic change access hours temporarily without notice, suspend access for up to five days for maintenance, and refuse access in some cases, such as unpaid rent.

Attic pricing and offers

The smallest units usually cost around £15 a week. Attic's FAQ says quotes include VAT, but its agreement lists fees plus VAT, so check your quote. New customers can get up to 6 weeks free (the full six need a 12-week stay), and selected stores run 50% off for up to 12 weeks. Attic matches a like-for-like quote within 2 miles.

Storage facility features

  • Workspace pods with WiFi, a printer, charging points and hot drinks, available at some sites (currently Harrow and Beckton), included with your rental at no extra cost

  • A forklifting service for business customers with a unit of at least 75 sq ft

  • The price match includes an extra week of free storage on top of matching the lower quote

  • Optional enhanced liability cover (StoreProtect), if you'd rather not arrange your own insurance

Downside: Ending an Attic agreement needs 4 weeks' written notice.

Access Self Storage

access self storage facility

Best for: businesses that need forklift help, deliveries and larger units, and will confirm 24 hour access with the store first.

Reviews: Trustpilot, 4.7/5.

Access Self Storage has been in the self storage business for more than 20 years and runs 56 stores across the UK. Most of its stores offer vehicle parking, and more than half also rent out office space.

Locations: More than 35 stores across London, including King's Cross, Battersea and Wembley.

How does 24 hour storage work at Access?

The account holder visits in person with ID to sign the agreement, though most check-in forms can be filled in online first. You get a personal PIN and need a padlock, which Access sells for £14.

Access advertises 24/7 access, but not every store offers it unrestricted. Where a store does offer it, Access says it's free, subject to terms and conditions. At King's Cross you have to request it, and elsewhere a manager can make occasional exceptions. In exceptional circumstances Access can suspend out of hours access.

Access pricing and offers

Prices come only from its quote tool and vary by store and unit size (9 to 500 sq ft). New customers get 50% off up to 8 weeks, and some stores advertise longer. Quotes include VAT but not Contents Protection, and Access requires cover for your goods.

Storage facility features

  • 24-hour CCTV, with alarms on individual units at many facilities

  • Free-to-use trolleys and a covered loading bay at many sites

  • A forklifting option for business customers

  • Packing boxes and tape for sale in-store

  • A monthly rolling contract, so you can move to a larger or smaller unit at no extra charge

Downside: Access doesn't accept cash, American Express or Diners Club.

+Space

plus space storage facility

Best for: short stays near Vauxhall or Southwark where app-based access suits you.

Reviews: +Space has no independent reviews on Trustpilot, Feefo or Google, only testimonials it has chosen itself for its homepage.

The storefront at +Space is fully automated, with staff reachable by phone, WhatsApp or email during office hours.

Locations: Vauxhall (SW8), with units up to 65 sq ft. Southwark (SE1), with units up to 175 sq ft.

How does 24 hour storage work at +Space?

Booking, ID verification and the digital agreement all happen online, and +Space sends app setup instructions on your move-in date. You can share access with family or removal firms through the app's Key Sharing tab.

24 hour access is listed for every day of the week, though the terms let +Space change access hours temporarily without notice. Extended access outside normal hours is a separate option, available only where +Space agrees, and it can cost extra.

+Space pricing and offers

Prices are listed weekly, including VAT: from about £11 for a 10 sq ft locker at Vauxhall to about £68 for a large unit at Southwark. Vauxhall's listed prices are 50% discounted for the first 8 weeks, then double. The +SPACE code on its site keeps 20% off after that.

Storage facility features

  • CCTV and an alarm on every unit, per +Space's own site

Downside: +Space's phone, WhatsApp and email support only run Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm.

Pocket

pocket self storage facility

Best for: same-day sign-up in South London with weekly or monthly billing.

Reviews: Google, 5/5 from 9 reviews on Pocket's Bermondsey page. No Trustpilot or Feefo page found. Google doesn't verify that reviewers were customers.

A converted Victorian warehouse at Bermondsey's Biscuit Factory became Pocket's first site in late 2025. Borough is due in autumn 2026, in seven railway arches.

Locations: Bermondsey (SE16), open now. Borough (SE1), due autumn 2026.

How does 24 hour storage work at Pocket?

Sign-up is online only: you verify your identity with a photo ID and a smartphone camera, then move in straight away. You get two personal access codes, one for the building and one for your unit. They change often.

Pocket's terms allow restricted hours at some premises, so 24 hour access isn't guaranteed everywhere it's advertised. Building works can also limit access with no fee reduction. The site has no staff, and support runs through the app, chat and email.

Pocket pricing and offers

At Bermondsey, the smallest available unit in each band starts at about £45 a week (10 to 49 sq ft), £74 (50 to 99 sq ft) and £151 (100 to 199 sq ft). There's no introductory discount, and Pocket says it freezes your rate for 12 months. Its site says prices include VAT, but its terms add VAT on top.

Storage facility features

  • Units at Bermondsey range from 16 to 150 sq ft, wider than the pricing bands shown on its site

  • Insurance is compulsory, covering whichever is greater: £2,500 or your goods' full replacement value

  • Billing runs weekly or monthly by Direct Debit

Downside: Pocket advertises “one-click cancellation,” but ending a contract actually needs 24 hours' written notice.

Lok N Go Storage

lok n go storage containers

Best for: larger loads in East London where you want a whole container to yourself.

Reviews: Google, 4.8/5.

At Lok N Go, units are shipping containers: 20ft (about 160 sq ft) and 40ft (about 320 sq ft), on the ground or first floor.

Locations: One site, on Romford Road in Ilford (E12), off the A406.

How does 24 hour storage work at Lok N Go?

Pick a container size and start date online, or book at the site office (Monday to Saturday, 8:30am to 5pm). The first month's rent and a refundable deposit equal to one month's rent are due upfront.

Lok N Go says its site is accessible 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. You open the container yourself by removing the locking bars. Lok N Go doesn't say how you get through the site gate at night, so ask before you book.

Lok N Go pricing and offers

Billed monthly by Direct Debit, with a one-month minimum and one month's notice. Prices start from £250 a month, but Lok N Go doesn't say which size that covers or if VAT is included.

Storage facility features

  • 24-hour CCTV surveillance across the site

  • The refundable deposit is returned within 3 to 5 working days of moving out

  • Drive-up access with no stated vehicle restrictions

What to check before you rent 24 hour storage

Before you sign with any provider, we'd check four things:

  • Charges: ask if out-of-hours access is free, and get the answer in writing.
  • Suspension: read the clause on extended access, because several providers can change or suspend it.
  • Deposit and notice: confirm both, plus any minimum spend.
  • Insurance: check if cover is compulsory and if you can use your own policy.

Try 24 hour storage at HOLD

HOLD was built so your day doesn't revolve around reception hours. Call 020 3657 2900 and reception will switch on your personal PIN, usually the same day.

See how it works on the 24 hour storage units page.

New customers pay £2 for their first month on bookings made by 31 October 2026. HOLD also matches a like-for-like quote within three miles and offers free move-in van hire (terms apply). HOLD's customers rate it 5 out of 5 on Feefo. Reserve your unit online in 30 seconds.

Frequently asked questions

It means you can reach your unit at any hour, day or night, without staff on site. Providers use the term differently: some include it in the rent, some limit it to selected stores or approval, and some offer only extended hours. Check the terms behind the label.

Not always. Most providers on this page include it at no extra charge, but several sets of terms let the provider change or suspend it, and extended hours can carry a fee. Get the charge in writing before you sign.

It depends on the provider. Some switch it on when you sign up, while others need a request or approval, and entry itself varies between PINs, apps and access codes. Ask how your store hands it out before you book.

HOLD includes it with every unit at no extra charge. Call reception to ask for it, and it'll switch on your personal PIN, usually the same day in reception hours. It then works when reception is closed. HOLD's terms treat extended access as discretionary, so it can change or suspend it.

Yes. HOLD matches a written like-for-like competitor quote from within 3 miles, for new customers on units up to 250 sq ft. Its Lowest Price Guarantee beats a comparable quote by 10% for 8 weeks if you show it within 28 days of moving in (terms apply).

  • Self Storage

  • Guide to London

Read more

Get a quote

Find out what offers are available with a free quote in 30 seconds.